---
title: "AppFolio Alternatives: 7 Platforms Compared for Property Managers"
description: "Compare 7 AppFolio alternatives by unit count and reason for leaving, with published prices and how to switch without losing records, listings or your website."
url: https://kihanmarketing.com/appfolio-alternatives/
published: 2026-10-27
updated: 2026-10-27
author: "Kiran Dasgupta"
---

# AppFolio Alternatives: 7 Platforms Compared for Property Managers

By [Kiran Dasgupta](https://kihanmarketing.com/kiran/), Founder and Lead Strategist

![A modern apartment building with lit balconies beside calm water at dusk, hills on the far shore, for a guide to AppFolio alternatives](https://kihanmarketing.com/media/brand/property-management-1900.webp)

The main AppFolio alternatives are Buildium, Rentvine, Rent Manager, Yardi Breeze, DoorLoop, Propertyware and ResMan. Pick by two things: why you want to leave and how many units you manage. Unit minimums, a renewal date you cannot miss, slow support and a poor fit for a small portfolio each point to a different tool.

**Sound familiar?**

- You tried to leave and found a fee waiting. [One BBB complaint](https://www.bbb.org/us/ca/goleta/profile/computer-software/appfolio-inc-1236-92009947/complaints) from August 2026 quotes an early termination fee that “would be $882” and says AppFolio billed one more month after that.
- You sent notice in writing and still got charged. “They have not honored the required termination I provided in writing per the contract,” wrote [one BBB reviewer](https://bbb.org/us/ca/goleta/profile/computer-software/appfolio-inc-1236-92009947/customer-reviews) in May 2026.
- The rules changed mid-term. [A Capterra reviewer in 2023](https://www.capterra.com/p/92228/AppFolio-Property-Manager/reviews/?page=9) says AppFolio added a $2.49 e-check charge with 60 days of notice, then would not let them out.
- You are told you are too small. “Why would you not recommend Appfolio for anything under 100 units?” [one BiggerPockets member](https://www.biggerpockets.com/posts/user/daray?page=9) asked. The reply: for a small portfolio, it makes little sense.
- You cannot reach a person. [A Capterra reviewer in January 2026](https://www.capterra.co.za/reviews/92228/appfolio-property-manager) objects to an AI chatbot taking over maintenance requests and says a human is hard to reach.

**Key takeaway**

Do not switch on price alone. First find your renewal date and notice terms on your AppFolio order form. Then match the alternative to your reason for leaving and your unit count. Export every record before access ends, and go live on the first of a month.

A note on this list. Every top result for this search is written by a software vendor, and each one ranks its own product first or features it prominently. We do not sell any of these platforms. Each platform fact below comes from that vendor’s own published pages, read in October 2026, and each section links to them. Sometimes the honest answer is to stay put, and we say when.

## Why Do Property Managers Look for AppFolio Alternatives?

Property managers look for AppFolio alternatives over cost and fit: unit minimums, per-unit plans with a minimum spend, API access only on higher plans, fees, and support tied to the plan you pay for. Small and mixed portfolios feel these the most.

Here is the short version of the price. AppFolio’s [pricing page](https://www.appfolio.com/pricing), as of October 2026, says Core starts at $1.49 per unit per month for residential units, with a 50-unit minimum and a minimum spend. For residential units, the same [pricing page](https://www.appfolio.com/pricing) says Plus starts at $3.20 and Max at $5.00 per unit per month. Both carry their own minimums that the page does not list.

**50 units** is the minimum for AppFolio Core, plus a minimum spend.

[Source: AppFolio pricing, October 2026](https://www.appfolio.com/pricing)

**30 units** is where new Rentvine accounts start, plus a monthly platform fee.

[Source: Rentvine FAQ, October 2026](https://www.rentvine.com/)

**$62 a month** is the starting price for Buildium Essential, with no unit minimum stated.

[Source: Buildium pricing, October 2026](https://www.buildium.com/pricing/)

The other reasons are about fit, and they show up on the same pricing page:

- **API access by plan.** An API is a link that lets other software use your data. AppFolio lists read-only API access on Plus and read/write access on Max. Core lists standard integrations, but no API.
- **Tools tied to a tier.** Affordable housing and student housing tools sit under Plus. A firm with a few affordable units may need a bigger plan just for those.
- **Support by tier.** Core gets standard support and Plus gets enhanced support. Only Max lists a dedicated customer success manager.
- **Fees on top.** The pricing page lets you add “value-added services” to a plan. Ask for every fee in writing, including payments, screening and the website.

AppFolio has real strengths too. AppFolio runs multifamily, single-family, affordable and student housing in one system, and it has a partner marketplace called AppFolio Stack. Its [customer experience page](https://www.appfolio.com/customer-experience) describes a dedicated onboarding team and a data migration process.

## Should You Stay on AppFolio?

Often, yes. If you manage well over 50 units and your books are clean, a plan change may fix the problem for less than a move. Switching can cost staff time, setup fees and weeks or months of learning a new system.

Staying is likely the right call if:

- The 50-unit minimum is not your issue.
- Your team knows the system well.
- You run affordable or student housing and use the Plus tools.
- Your website, listings and applications run through AppFolio and work.
- Price is the only problem, and you have not asked about a plan change.

Ask about a plan change before your renewal date. Moving up a tier may fix an API or support gap. Moving down may cut the bill. Get any new price in writing, with the minimum spend and every fee.

Timing matters. As of October 2026, “All AppFolio Property Manager subscriptions renew for 12 months,” per [AppFolio’s billing FAQ](https://www.appfolio.com/help/billing-services). The page may ask you to sign in. It also says notice of non-renewal must reach AppFolio at least 30 days before the annual renewal date. Your own order form may differ, so check it.

## AppFolio Alternatives at a Glance

This table puts AppFolio next to seven alternatives, all software like AppFolio, using only what each vendor publishes, as of October 2026. Each platform name links to its pricing page. “Not listed” means the page does not say. For full feature lists, see our [property management software roundup](https://kihanmarketing.com/expert-property-management-software-solutions-for-growth/).

| Platform | Best fit if you leave AppFolio | Unit minimum | Published price, October 2026 | API access | Free trial |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [AppFolio](https://www.appfolio.com/pricing) (for reference) | Residential firms with 50 or more units | 50 on Core; Plus and Max by quote | From $1.49 per unit per month (Core), plus a minimum spend | Read-only on Plus, read/write on Max | Not listed; free demo |
| [Buildium](https://www.buildium.com/pricing/) | Small and mid-size residential firms and HOA managers | None stated | From $62 a month (Essential); over 5,000 units by quote | Open API on Premium | 14 days, no credit card |
| [Rentvine](https://www.rentvine.com/pricing) | Residential firms that want API access on every account | 30 units | As low as $1.50 per unit, plus a platform fee | Included (no tiers) | Not listed; demo |
| [Rent Manager](https://www.rentmanager.com/pricing/) | Mixed and unusual property types | Not posted | By quote (Basic, Plus, Premium) | Listed; bundle not stated | Not listed; demo |
| [Yardi Breeze](https://www.yardibreeze.com/pricing/) | Residential, commercial, HOA and affordable firms | None stated; monthly minimum instead | $1 per unit per month with a $100 minimum (Breeze) | Not mentioned on Yardi’s pages | Not listed; demo |
| [DoorLoop](https://www.doorloop.com/pricing) | Firms of any size that want API access on the entry plan | None stated; monthly minimum instead | From $2.50 per unit per month, $199 minimum (One) | Full API access from One | Not listed; demo |
| [Propertyware](https://www.propertyware.com/pricing/) | Single-family firms | Billed in blocks of 50 units | Starts at $1 per unit; $250 minimum (Basic), plus implementation fee | Paid add-on on any package | Limited-access trial, no credit card |
| [ResMan](https://www.myresman.com/platform/pricing/) | Multifamily and affordable housing | Not stated | By quote (Start, Scale, Thrive) | Two-way API on higher tiers | Not listed; demo |

## AppFolio Competitors: Who Each One Fits

Each entry covers who it fits if you are coming from AppFolio, what you give up and facts from the vendor’s own pages, as of October 2026.

### Buildium: posted plans and no unit minimum

**Fits:** residential firms and HOA managers who want to see prices up front. Buildium’s [pricing page](https://www.buildium.com/pricing/) lists Essential from $62 a month, Growth from $192 a month and Premium from $400 a month, as of October 2026. These are monthly “starting at” prices for each plan, not per-unit rates, and no unit minimum is stated. Firms with more than 5,000 units, and community associations, get a quote. Buildium offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card. Buildium is a RealPage company.

**What you give up:** Buildium puts its Open API on Premium, the top plan. Growth and Premium also require Buildium’s onboarding service, which imports your data. That helps, but it is not optional. For the head-to-head, read our [AppFolio and Buildium comparison](https://kihanmarketing.com/appfolio-vs-buildium/).

### Rentvine vs AppFolio: the closest swap for a mid-size firm?

Often, yes: for a residential firm of 30 units or more, Rentvine is the closest swap. Its per-unit rate sits near AppFolio Core’s, and it includes API access on every account. **Fits:** professional residential firms that want API access without paying for a top plan. Rentvine requires a 30-unit minimum for new accounts, plus a monthly platform fee, as of October 2026, per its [homepage FAQ](https://www.rentvine.com/). Rentvine has no tiers. Its [pricing page](https://www.rentvine.com/pricing) says “Pricing is charged per active unit managed.” As of October 2026, the same [pricing page](https://www.rentvine.com/pricing) says Rentvine starts as low as $1.50 per unit.

Set Rentvine against AppFolio and the per-unit rates sit close together. The real gap is in what comes with them. AppFolio keeps API access for Plus and Max. Rentvine includes it from day one. Rentvine says, “We handle 80% of the migration and get you live in our platform in 45 days,” for a one-time setup fee. Its homepage adds, “We allow full access to anything you would like for 12 months post cancellation.” Those are vendor claims, so get both in writing.

**What you give up:** Rentvine does not mention HOA or commercial property. It lists a demo, but no free trial. The setup fee and platform fee are not posted, so ask.

### Rent Manager: the widest range of property types

**Fits:** firms with mixed or unusual property types. [Rent Manager](https://www.rentmanager.com/) covers homes and apartments, commercial space, associations, student and affordable housing, manufactured housing, self storage, RV parks and vacation homes. Rent Manager sells three bundles: Basic, Plus and Premium. Its [pricing page](https://www.rentmanager.com/pricing/) says it works with “more than 200 integrated providers.” Rent Manager’s implementation team handles the data import and one-on-one training.

**What you give up:** Rent Manager posts no prices. Every bundle is priced by quote, so you cannot compare costs without a sales call. The page lists API access, but not which bundle includes it.

**Buildium vs Rent Manager:** these two are often compared. Buildium posts its plans and offers a free trial, so you can price it in an afternoon. Rent Manager is quote only, but it covers more property types and lists software customization and open access on its pricing page. If you run plain residential or HOAs, Buildium is quicker to price. If you run storage, RV lots or commercial space beside rentals, Rent Manager is the one to quote.

### Yardi Breeze: low posted rates with a monthly minimum

**Fits:** firms that want posted pricing and may need commercial, HOA or affordable tools. [Yardi Breeze](https://www.yardibreeze.com/) covers residential, commercial, affordable, self storage, HOA and condo, and manufactured housing. The base Breeze plan covers residential and commercial. The other types need Breeze Premier.

Yardi’s [pricing page](https://www.yardibreeze.com/pricing/), as of October 2026, lists residential Breeze at $1 per unit per month with a $100 minimum per month. On the same [pricing page](https://www.yardibreeze.com/pricing/), residential Breeze Premier has the same per-unit rate but a $400 minimum per month. Affordable housing on Premier is $3 per unit per month on the [same page](https://www.yardibreeze.com/pricing/). Every posted rate is “based on annual agreement,” and Yardi lists “No onboarding fees,” “No training fees” and “No support fees.”

**What you give up:** Yardi’s own Breeze pages do not mention API access or an app marketplace. If you rely on outside tools, ask before you sign. Our [AppFolio and Yardi comparison](https://kihanmarketing.com/appfolio-vs-yardi/) goes deeper.

### DoorLoop: API access on the entry plan

**Fits:** firms that want API access without a top plan. DoorLoop says it is built for “landlords, property managers, and investors of any size” on its homepage. DoorLoop’s [pricing page](https://www.doorloop.com/pricing), as of October 2026, lists DoorLoop One at $2.50 per unit per month, or $1.50 for each unit above 100. The same [pricing page](https://www.doorloop.com/pricing) lists a $199 monthly minimum for DoorLoop One. Connect and Multiply cost more per unit. DoorLoop lists “full API access” on One, and it sends income and expenses to QuickBooks Online.

DoorLoop bills monthly or yearly, with a discount for yearly. DoorLoop’s [homepage](https://www.doorloop.com/) says “you can go live in days, not weeks.”

**What you give up:** no free trial is listed, only a demo. Setup fees are not stated, so ask about them. Also ask what the agreement covers and how either side ends it.

### Propertyware: built for single-family

**Fits:** single-family firms. [Propertyware](https://www.propertyware.com/) says it is built for “performance-minded Single Family property management companies.” Like Buildium, it is a RealPage company.

Read the fine print. Propertyware’s [pricing page](https://www.propertyware.com/pricing/), as of October 2026, says it starts at $1 per unit, per month. The same [pricing page](https://www.propertyware.com/pricing/) lists monthly minimums of $250, $350 and $450 on Basic, Plus and Premium. It says “Billable units are adjusted in 50 unit increments,” so you pay in blocks of 50. Propertyware charges an implementation fee of twice the monthly subscription price. The [same page](https://www.propertyware.com/pricing/) lists API access as an add-on of $1 per unit per month on any package. The page lists no volume discount.

**What you give up:** a mixed portfolio may fit less well. On the plus side, Propertyware offers a [limited-access free trial](https://www.propertyware.com/free-trial/) with no credit card.

### ResMan, or Entrata, for large multifamily

**Fits:** large multifamily operators and firms with a lot of affordable housing. [ResMan](https://www.myresman.com/platform/pricing/) serves multifamily and affordable housing, including HUD, Low-Income Housing Tax Credit and USDA Rural Development properties. ResMan sells Start, Scale and Thrive tiers, all by quote. ResMan includes two-way API access on its higher tiers only. ResMan’s [implementation page](https://www.myresman.com/implementation-support/) says the work begins as soon as you sign, with a dedicated project manager.

The other large multifamily option is [Entrata](https://www.entrata.com/). Entrata covers apartments, student, affordable and military housing, plus commercial and manufactured housing. Entrata does not publish prices. Entrata has a public marketplace and publishes its API documentation.

**What you give up:** both price by quote and are built for larger teams. Neither mentions single-family on the pages we read. For a few hundred mixed doors, they may be more system than you need.

### Is there an AppFolio alternative for small landlords?

Yes, but it is a different kind of tool. TurboTenant and TenantCloud are landlord tools, not full property management software. They suit owners who manage their own rentals.

[TurboTenant](https://www.turbotenant.com/pricing/) says most of its users have between 1 and 50 units, and it has a free plan, not just a trial. [TenantCloud](https://www.tenantcloud.com/pricing) limits plans by leases, not units, and offers a 14-day trial. TenantCloud also says you can export your leases, transactions, reports and documents before you close an account.

If you manage rentals for other owners, you need trust accounting and owner statements. That points back to full software.

[**Switching software? Check what your website ranks for first.** Send the address and we send back what it actually ranks for today, from Search Console, with the gaps marked.](https://kihanmarketing.com/marketing-audit/)

## Which AppFolio Alternative Fits Your Reason for Leaving?

Match the alternative to your main reason for leaving, then check it against your unit count. Under 50 units, start with Buildium, Yardi Breeze, DoorLoop or Rentvine (from 30 units). For API access without a top plan, look at Rentvine or DoorLoop. For large multifamily, look at ResMan or Entrata.

| If this is you | Look first at | Check this |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Fewer than 50 units | Buildium, DoorLoop, Yardi Breeze, Rentvine (from 30 units) | DoorLoop and Yardi Breeze have monthly minimums |
| 50 to 200 units | Buildium, DoorLoop, Rentvine, Yardi Breeze | Compare full written quotes with AppFolio Core at renewal; staying may cost less |
| Several hundred units or more | Rent Manager, ResMan, Entrata, Breeze Premier | Rent Manager, ResMan and Entrata by quote; plan a longer move |
| You want API access without a top plan | Rentvine, DoorLoop | Buildium puts its API on Premium; Propertyware charges extra per unit |
| Scattered single-family homes | Propertyware, Rentvine | Propertyware bills units in blocks of 50 |
| Affordable housing | ResMan, Entrata, Yardi Breeze | Yardi posts affordable rates; ResMan and Entrata by quote |
| Commercial or mixed portfolios | Rent Manager, Yardi Breeze, Entrata, DoorLoop | Ask how each handles your lease types |
| HOAs or condo associations | Buildium, Yardi Breeze, Rent Manager | Buildium prices associations by quote |

Five made-up firms show how the choice plays out. They are not clients.

### A 30-door single-family manager

This firm is under AppFolio Core’s 50-unit minimum. A 30-door firm just meets Rentvine’s 30-unit minimum, and Buildium states none. Propertyware fits single-family but bills in blocks of 50.

- Price first: Buildium, Yardi Breeze and Rentvine.

### A 150-unit mixed residential firm

The minimum is not the problem here. Total cost and features are. Get a written AppFolio price at renewal and set it beside quotes from Buildium, DoorLoop and Rentvine.

- Price first: a plan change, then Rentvine or DoorLoop if you need API access.

### A 1,200-unit operator with affordable units

This firm needs tools for HUD or Tax Credit programs. AppFolio lists them under Plus. ResMan and Entrata are built for this scale, and Yardi Breeze covers affordable on Premier. The move itself is big.

- Price first: an AppFolio plan change, then ResMan.

### An HOA manager with 20 associations

AppFolio lists Community Associations as a solution, so check what you already have. Buildium, Yardi Breeze and Rent Manager also cover associations.

- Ask each vendor to show board reports and dues with your own data.

### A brokerage with a small rental arm

Say it manages 40 rentals for owners. It needs trust accounting and owner statements, and it must keep trust records for years under state rules. A landlord tool is not enough.

- Price first: Buildium, Yardi Breeze and Rentvine, and ask each one to show trust accounting and owner statements with your own data.

**Quick check: is it time to leave AppFolio?**

1. Do you manage fewer than 50 units?
2. Do you need API access your plan does not include?
3. Have you asked AppFolio about a plan change and still found the price too high?
4. Do you run a property type AppFolio puts on a higher plan than you need?
5. Has slow or hard-to-reach support cost you time or rent more than once this year?

0 to 1 yesStay for now. Your problem is likely the plan, not the platform. Ask about a plan change before renewal.2 to 3 yesShop around. Get two written quotes from the matching alternatives and set them beside an AppFolio plan change.4 to 5 yesPlan the move. Pick a new system, then work through the switch steps below before your notice window closes.

Minimums make sticker prices hard to compare. A low per-unit rate can cost more per door than it looks once the minimum kicks in.

**What do you really pay per unit?**

- Monthly software bill, after any minimum spend
- Units you manage

It divides your monthly bill by your units, so you can compare platforms with different minimums on one number.

Here is how a minimum changes the math at 30 units, using posted prices as of October 2026. On [DoorLoop One](https://www.doorloop.com/pricing), 30 units at the posted rate come to $75 a month. That is under the [posted $199 minimum](https://www.doorloop.com/pricing), so the bill is $199 a month, or about $6.63 per unit. On [Yardi Breeze](https://www.yardibreeze.com/pricing/), 30 units come to $30 a month, so the $100 minimum applies: about $3.33 per unit. Run your own bill through the calculator.

## How Do You Switch From AppFolio Without Losing Data?

To switch from AppFolio without losing data, export every report and file while you still have full access. Give notice before your renewal date. Then go live on the first of a month, and keep AppFolio running through one more month-end close.

Before you give notice, export these while you still have full access. Save them as files you can open without AppFolio, such as spreadsheets and PDFs:

- Rent roll for every property
- Tenant ledgers and owner ledgers, with full history
- General ledger and trial balance for each year you keep
- Security deposit liabilities, by tenant
- Vendor list, with tax details and 1099 totals
- Leases, addenda and other stored documents
- Work order history, plus open work orders
- Owner statements already sent

Then open a few files to check them. Stored documents and old messages may not come out cleanly. With the exports saved, work through the move in this order:

1. **Find your renewal date and notice terms.** Pull your order form and mark the last day you can give notice of non-renewal.
2. **Pick the new system before you give notice.** Ask what data it can import, in what format, and what its setup fee covers.
3. **Confirm the exports are complete.** Check the list above against the new vendor’s import list, and keep a copy you control.
4. **Check how long you must keep records.** State rules set how long trust records must be kept. Keep your exports at least that long.
5. **Switch at the end of a month.** Close the month in AppFolio, then go live on the first. Each owner statement stays in one system. A January start keeps a year of 1099 data in one place.
6. **Run both systems for one close.** Keep AppFolio through at least one month-end after go-live. Reconcile bank, owner and deposit balances in both, and budget for paying both vendors during the overlap.
7. **Set up banking and payments again.** Connect your trust and operating accounts. Set up rent payments and owner payouts. Residents on autopay will likely need to sign up again.
8. **Tell owners, residents and vendors.** Owners about 60 days out, with a sample of the new statement. Residents and vendors about 30 days out, with the new portal link and a reminder the week before.

### How long must you keep the old records?

It depends on your state. In Florida, brokers must keep their books and records for at least 5 years under [Fla. Stat. 475.5015](https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2025/475.5015). In Texas, a broker “must maintain all documentation regarding a trust account for four years” under [22 TAC 535.146](https://www.law.cornell.edu/regulations/texas/22-Tex-Admin-Code-SS-535-146). Check your own state’s rule before you delete anything.

## What Happens to Your Website, Listings and Portals When You Leave AppFolio?

Your website, listing feeds, online applications and portals may stop when your AppFolio account closes, because many of them run on AppFolio. Check each one before you give notice.

- **Your website.** If you use AppFolio Sites, AppFolio hosts your site. AppFolio’s billing FAQ, as of October 2026, says a website cancellation needs a written request 15 days before the next monthly bill. Make sure you, not a vendor, control your domain name.
- **Listings.** The listings AppFolio sends to your site and to listing sites stop with the account. Set up the new system’s feed first.
- **Online applications.** Your apply links point to AppFolio. Update every link on your site, ads and listings.
- **Resident and owner portals.** These move to the new vendor, so old bookmarks break. Put the new links in your site’s header and footer.
- **Autopay.** Put a sign-up reminder on the new portal page.

Protect your search traffic during the move. Keep your listing pages live, so renters can still find vacancies. Keep the same domain if you can. If a page address changes, set up a 301 redirect, a permanent forward that sends visitors and Google to the new address. Our [guide to property management website development](https://kihanmarketing.com/property-management-website-development-what-actually-matters-in-2026/) covers what else a site needs.

A website you own, apart from your software, helps whether you stay or leave. If you stay, it can still show AppFolio listings, and our [guide to AppFolio listings on WordPress](https://kihanmarketing.com/guides/appfolio-listings-wordpress/) compares the ways to do that. If you leave, the pages, content and domain stay with you. This is part of our [property management marketing](https://kihanmarketing.com/property-management-marketing/) work.

[AppFolio Site RebuildsCustom websites for property managers on AppFolio, with a page for every property. The site and domain stay yours, whether you stay on AppFolio or leave.](https://kihanmarketing.com/property-management-marketing/appfolio-property-management-websites/)

**Why take this from us**

Kiran Dasgupta wrote this guide. He is the founder and lead strategist at Kihan Marketing and leads every engagement. We build websites and listing tools for property managers who run AppFolio. That includes AppFolio Listings Pro, a plugin that turns AppFolio listings into a page for each unit. A Seattle property manager ran a 5-page AppFolio-based site. We built it a 250+ page website, with a page for every property it manages. So we know AppFolio from the website side. The facts about each platform here come from that vendor’s own published pages, not from running them.

## What to Do First

1. **Find your renewal date.** Read your AppFolio order form for the renewal date and notice terms, and put the deadline on your calendar.
2. **List what you must keep.** Write down every export, link and login you will need to move.
3. **Shortlist two alternatives.** Pick by unit count and reason for leaving, and ask each one for a migration plan in writing.

## AppFolio Alternatives FAQ

Is there a free AppFolio alternative?For self-managing landlords, yes: [TurboTenant](https://www.turbotenant.com/pricing/) has a free plan. Full property management software is not free, but you can try some first. Buildium has a 14-day free trial, and Propertyware offers a limited-access trial.What is cheaper than AppFolio for under 50 units?Under 50 units you fall below AppFolio Core’s 50-unit minimum, so look at tools with a lower unit minimum or none. As of October 2026, Buildium Essential starts at $62 a month on its [pricing page](https://www.buildium.com/pricing/). [Yardi Breeze](https://www.yardibreeze.com/pricing/) charges $1 per unit per month with a $100 minimum per month. [Rentvine](https://www.rentvine.com/) starts at 30 units. Use the calculator above to compare the real bill.Can I export my data from AppFolio?Yes, through reports. Third-party help guides, such as [this one from EliseAI](https://support.meetelise.com/hc/en-us/articles/42091431197709-AppFolio-Set-up-a-Scheduled-Export), show how to build an AppFolio report and export it as a CSV file. We could not find a published AppFolio policy on data export. So ask AppFolio in writing how long you can still log in, and export what you need before access ends.How long does switching property management software take?It varies by vendor and by firm. Rentvine says it gets firms live in 45 days. DoorLoop says you can go live “in days, not weeks.” Either way, plan around a month-end close and run both systems for at least one close.Does AppFolio have a minimum number of units?Yes. As of October 2026, AppFolio’s [pricing page](https://www.appfolio.com/pricing) says Core has a 50-unit minimum and a minimum spend, and Plus and Max have their own minimums by quote.Is Rentvine cheaper than AppFolio?It can be, but the per-unit rates are close. As of October 2026, [Rentvine](https://www.rentvine.com/pricing) starts as low as $1.50 per unit, within a few cents of AppFolio Core’s starting rate. Rentvine also charges a platform fee, listed in its [homepage FAQ](https://www.rentvine.com/). The difference is in the minimums, the setup fee and the API access. Rentvine includes API access on every account, which AppFolio keeps for Plus and Max. Get both full prices in writing.Is DoorLoop cheaper than AppFolio?It depends on your unit count. As of October 2026, DoorLoop One lists $2.50 per unit per month with a $199 monthly minimum on its [pricing page](https://www.doorloop.com/pricing). A small portfolio can pay more per unit than the rate suggests. DoorLoop includes full API access on One, which AppFolio keeps for Plus and Max. Put both written quotes through the calculator above.How do I cancel AppFolio?Send notice of non-renewal before your renewal date. As of October 2026, AppFolio’s billing FAQ says plans renew for 12 months and that notice must arrive at least 30 days before the annual renewal date. An AppFolio Sites website needs its own written request, 15 days before the next monthly bill. We could not find a public AppFolio page that describes ending a plan before its renewal date. So confirm all of this on your order form and ask AppFolio in writing.[**Want to know what your site is worth to you before you move?** Send the address and we send back what it actually ranks for today, from Search Console, with the gaps marked.](https://kihanmarketing.com/marketing-audit/)
